Day 3 – first day of tour

This morning I was woken just before the wake up call came through at 6am.  Argh. I hate early starts but will put up with them for now lol.  I had (surprisingly) slept through the whole night that I thought was earthquake free.  However we were told by the tour director, Clark, that there had been a 4.8 quake at around 6am and a tsunami alert had been issued.  It just never ends.  I was very glad I hadn’t felt it though.

Breakfast was from 6.45 – 7.30 and we were then taken to the train station for the Transcoastal train to Greymouth on the west coast.  You can choose to go to Arthur’s Pass or the whole journey to Greymouth.  I chose the later.  I had really been looking forward to this and I wasn’t let down.  The scenery is absolutely gobsmackingly gorgeous, pardon the pun.  We journeyed over beautiful gorges and rivers.  The mountains just seem to rise vertically up really, really high.  One of the carriages is opened up as a viewing platform.  It was a cold morning but I braved the chilly air to go and stand out there to take my photos.  I would have really regretted it if I hadn’t gone out there.  I’m unable to download any photos at the moment but will do so as soon as I can.  At Arthur’s Pass, the majority of the people on the tour got off and continued on by coach.  I and 11 others kept going on the train.  We travelled for 15 mins in a tunnel and when we emerged it was like being in a completely different area.  It was dark and cloudy with very low mists over the mountains.  It also rained for part of the time.  It was still really nice but didn’t match the stunning beauty of the first part of the journey.

When we arrived in Greymouth, the coach was there to collect us and we head to Hokitika.  I love jade jewelry and wanted to buy a tiki and anything else that took my fancy.  I ended up buying two necklaces and a pair of earrings for a great price in Aussie dollars.

After that we spent two long hours traveling through the countryside to Fox Glacier.  The weather had really closed in which meant the passengers who wanted to weren’t allowed to go on the helicopter flights over Fox Glacier.  It’s too dangerous.  Hopefully they will be able to go tomorrow morning.

Fox Glacier was disappointing because of the weather.  We were only given 20 mins to walk as we must have been running late to check in to the hotel.  I’m not likely to come back here because it is so far away from everything but I would love to see it in nicer weather.

After dinner tonight Carol, the kids and I sat down and watched the end of the 2nd cricket test.  It was so nice to see some cricket.  In Christchurch I had Sky Sports but no sound.  Brad said the same thing happened in their room so we felt like the hotel was teasing us by letting us watch sports but not listen lol.

The weather today was a chilly 17 degrees celsius.  And this is summer.  It is forecast to go up to around 22 in the next few days.  Woohoo.  Have I told you how much I love the summer.  I know some of you know that.

Tomorrow we are off to Queenstown for 2 nights.  I think we get to do the Haka show, dinner and gondola ride which I can’t wait for.

Bye for now 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

